Frequently Asked Questions
Answers to your continuing online education questions…
How long does it take to receive my Certificate of Completion?
Your answer sheet is graded by the computer immediately. When you pass the test, professional looking accredited certificates of completion can be printed out immediately.
Do I need to take an exam after reading a course?
Yes. Each course has a 10 to 50-question test, (depending on the amount of credit unit hours required), consisting of multiple choice and true/false questions.
What is a passing grade for an exam?
You must pass the test with a score of 70% or better. For Example: you must get 14 of the 20 questions correct. Students that do not receive a passing score are eligible for re-testing at no charge until a passing score is achieved.
What kind of certification do I receive?
After you successfully pass the test, (70% correct answers), you can immediately print your course certificate, which shows your name, license number, approval number, number of CEU-hours completed and the course title.
How do I know if your courses are accepted in my state?
If you are unsure if your state licensing board accepts our pre-approved courses, please contact your board directly. It is always the student’s responsibility to know the requirements of their state’s board.
Some of my personal information on the course material I received is incorrect. How do I correct it?
Please update any incorrect personal information by using the “contact us” page of this site.
What is the course format?
Our courses consist of a Course Study Guide, a Pre-Test, a Final Test, and a Certificate of Completion.
Do I need to mail my order to you?
No. We will receive an e-mail after your purchase and your account will be activated immediately.
How long does it take to receive my course(s)?
You will immediately receive an email link that will take you directly to the Course Study Guide, Pre-Test and Final Test.
You can start an online course, take a break, and come back at your leisure to finish the course. You can review our online CEU courses and retake the test as many times as you need to receive a passing grade.
What are Florida regulations for individuals who assist with Self-Administered Medication at an Assisted Living Facility?
Florida regulations for individuals with an Assisted Living Facility, who assist with Self-Administered Medication:
Assistance with Self-Administered Medication Training:
Unlicensed persons, as defined in Section 429.256(1)(b), F.S., who provide assistance with self-administered medications as described in Rule 58A-5.0185, F.A.C., must complete 6 hours of training provided by a registered nurse, licensed pharmacist, or department staff prior to assuming this responsibility. Training shall include demonstrations of proper techniques and provide opportunities for hands-on learning through practice exercises. Unlicensed persons who have received a training certificate demonstrating successful completion of a 4 hour course before May 1, 2013 are not required to retake the initial 6 hour training.
1. Courses provided in fulfillment of this requirement must address the following subject areas:
- State law and rule requirements with respect to recognizing the differences between providing assistance with the self-administration of medications and the supervision, administration, and management of medications in assisted living facilities;
- Procedures and techniques for assisting the resident with self-administration of medication including how to read a prescription label;
- Providing the right medications to the right resident;
- Common medications;
- The importance of taking medications as prescribed;
- Recognition of side effects, adverse reactions, and procedures to follow when residents appear to be experiencing side effects and adverse reactions;
- Documentation and record keeping; and
- Medication storage and disposal.
2. A training certificate will be issued to a trainee after successfully demonstrating the ability to provide assistance with self-administration, including the ability to:
- Read and understand a prescription label;
- Assist with oral dosage forms, topical dosage forms, and topical ophthalmic, otic, and nasal dosage forms, including solutions, suspensions, sprays, and inhalers;
- Measure liquid medications, break scored tablets, and crush tablets in accordance with prescription directions;
- Recognize the need to obtain clarification of an “as needed” prescription order;
- Recognize a medication order which requires judgment or discretion, and to advise the resident, resident’s health care provider, or facility employer of inability to assist in the administration of such orders;
- Complete a medication observation record;
- Retrieve and store medication; and
- Recognize the general signs of adverse reactions to medications and report such reactions.
3. Continuing education. Unlicensed persons who provide assistance with self-administered medications, and who have successfully completed the initial 6 hour training, must obtain annually a minimum of 2 hours of continuing education in topics relating to providing assistance with self-administered medications and safe medication practices in an assisted living facility. The 2 hours of continuing education may only be provided by a registered nurse, licensed pharmacist, or department staff.
It is our mission to provide you with convenient, online Continuing Education.